Omicron update: India makes week-long home quarantine mandatory for all international passengers

Amid Omicron fear, India has made home quarantine and COVID testing a must for all international passengers, starting from January 11.
Quarantine mandatory for all international passengers
India adds home quarantine in the latest list of guidelines for all international passengers. Image: Shutterstock/Justlight.

India makes quarantine mandatory for all international passengers

In the recent update amid Omicron spread, India has revised its travel guidelines, making seven-day home quarantine mandatory for all international passengers, effective from January 11. Furthermore, an RT-PCR test for COVID-19 on the eight day is also must for all passengers arriving from international destinations.

“All travellers (including the two per cent who are selected for random testing on arrival and found negative) will undergo home quarantine. They should upload results of the RT-PCR test done on the eighth day on the Air Suvidha portal, which will be monitored by the respective state governments,” said the guidelines from the health ministry,

If the COVID test results come positive, the samples will be sent for genomic testing at INSACOG laboratory network. Such passengers shall be managed at isolation facility and treated as per stringent protocols. The contacts of such positive cases must be kept under home quarantine monitored strictly by the concerned state government. If found negative, passengers have been advised to self-monitor their health for the next seven days.

Omicron variant | quarantine mandatory for all international passengers
The Omicron variant is spreading at an alarming rate across the world, making countries rethink their travel guidelines. Image: Shutterstock/diy13.

The number of ‘at-risk’ countries has also been increased from 10 to 19, as the Omicron variant spreads wildly across the world. The list now includes the UK, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Ghana, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Hong Kong, Israel, Congo, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Nigeria, Tunisia and Zambia.

Travellers from these ‘at-risk’ countries will be required to submit samples for COVID-19 testing (self-paid) upon arrival, and will have to wait for their test results at the airport before leaving or taking a connecting flight. Passengers will also have to submit a self-declaration form ( including last 14 days travel details) and a negative RT-PCR report on the online Air Suvidha portal 72 hours prior to starting their journey to India.

Read more.

Flying to Delhi? Make a note of these latest travel guidelines

Fully vaccinated travellers should be able to move around freely, says WTTC chief